Edit Module
Bookmark and Share Email this page Email Print this page Print Feed Feed

Mar 8, 201702:45 PMCulture

Fun and Culture in the Mid-State

Awards for Distinguished Service to the Arts in the Capital Region 2017

Mar 8, 2017 - 02:45 PM
 Awards for Distinguished Service to the Arts in the Capital Region 2017

Jeff Lynch and Elizabeth

Theatre Harrisburg has announced the 2017 recipients of the Awards for Distinguished Service to the Arts in the Capital Region. Elizabeth "Bebe" Mullaugh and Jeff Lynch of Harrisburg and the Central Pennsylvania Youth Ballet in Carlisle will be recognized on June 4 at Whitaker Center for Science and the Arts. George Orthey of Newport will also be honored for a special achievement.

Individually and as a couple, Mullaugh and Lynch work to provide opportunities for young and emerging artists as well as a home for more established talent.  Mullaugh, an attorney with McNees Wallace and Nurick, is a founding member of the board of trustees for the Capital Area School for the Arts Charter School in Harrisburg and currently serves as its board president. She was a board member and chairman of Concertante. Lynch is a commercial filmmaker, designer, photographer, musician, and music presenter. He also supports the work of Market Square Concerts, Harrisburg Symphony, Central Pennsylvania Friends of Jazz, and the Blues Society of Central Pennsylvania.

Central Pennsylvania Youth Ballet, founded in 1955 by Marcia Dale Weary, provides world-class classical ballet training. Alumni perform with the New York City Ballet, English National Ballet, Paul Taylor American Modern Dance among others. It is the only school in the United States licensed to perform George Balanchine's "The Nutcracker." Nicholas Ade is chief executive officer, and Alan Hineline is director of artistic programming.

Orthey is the world's premier autoharp maker. In addition to autoharps, he crafts Appalachian dulcimers, hammered dulcimers, bowed psalteries, plucked psalteries, banjos, guitars and mouth bows. He annually hosts the Mountain Laurel Authoharp Gathering at Little Buffalo State Park.

Theatre Harrisburg, founded in 1926, established the Arts Awards in 1989 to celebrate regional arts and those who support the arts as well as a benefit for the organization. Each year, two awards are presented, one to an individual or couple and one to a company or organization. Given for only the second time, the special achievement honor is presented to a local artist with unique talent and national reputation.

Awards are presented in the style of the Kennedy Center Honors. Among the past recipients are Mike Greenwald, Nancy and Jay Krevsky, Stuart Malina, Lois Lehrman Grass, Steve Rudolph, Market Square Concerts and the PA Media Group.  (Complete list attached). A theatrical production is preceded by a cocktail reception with hors d'oeuvres and is followed by desserts. For more information about the Awards and event, contact Theatre Harrisburg at theatreharrisburg.com.

Arts Award For Distinguished Service To The Arts In The Capital Region Past Honorees

1989 – Larry Newland, Lois Lehrman Grass & Mim Warden

1990 – Lucy Miller Murray & Whitaker Foundation

1991 – Carrie Wissler-Thomas & Central Pennsylvania Friends of Jazz

1992 – Hershey Foods Corporation & Marcia Dale Weary

1993 – Donald Clapper* & Mellon Bank, Commonwealth Region

1994 – Jane and Edward First, Jr.* & Perry County Council of the Arts

1995 – Barbara & Clyde McGeary & The City of Harrisburg, Mayor Stephen R. Reed

1996 – Elsie Swenson* & Harsco Corporation

1997 – David Jenkins Morrison & John Crain Kunkel Foundation

1998 – AMP Incorporated, Anne and Donald Alsedek & Marianne Fischer

1999 – David Hoffman and Charles Peguese & WITF, Incorporated

2000 – Allied Arts Fund & Harold McInnes

2001 – Harristown Development Corporation & Nicholas and Ellen* Hughes

2002 – Danzante & Steve Rudolph & Recognition of a Special Achievement Dr. Thomas R. Stone

2003 – Harrisburg Symphony Association & Marion C. and William H. Alexander

2004 – Robert C. Lau, Ph.D. & Susquehanna Art Museum

2006 – Capital BlueCross & Clark and Melissa Nicholson

2008 – Capital Area School for the Arts & Robert Stadnycki

2010 – Mary Webber Weston & The Wednesday Club

2012 – Stuart Malina & Rose Lehrman Arts Center and Live at Rose Lehrman

2013 – PA Media Group & Linda Tedford

2014 – Jay and Nancy Krevsky & The Hall Foundation

2015 – Bill and Beverlee Lehr & PNC

2016 – Mike Greenwald & Market Square Concerts

* Fondly remembered

Add your comment: